School Board Elections

NOMINATION PERIOD closed at noon on, September 20, 2021.

The following individuals have been acclaimed, or will be represented on the ballot on October 18, 2021:

Ward 1 - Northern WardLois BedwellAcclaimed
Ward 2 - Cypress EastCathy HoggAcclaimed
Ward 3 - Redcliff /Dunmore

Pamela Cursons

Robyn Orthner

Shauna Vanderspruit

2 vacancies


Ward 4 - Cypress WestGraeme DennisAcclaimed
Ward 5 - Bow Island/BurdettPatty RooksAcclaimed
Ward 6 - Foremost / County of Forty MileNancy HaragaAcclaimed

Notice of Election:

Learn more about the role of public school board trustees by watching this video created by the Public Schools Boards Association:

Role of the Trustee

School Board Trustees are local politicians elected by and accountable to the community they serve. The provincial government delegates to School Boards the responsibility for governing or overseeing the affairs of the school jurisdiction.

The School Board has many responsibilities, including:

  • setting school jurisdiction goals that ensure students have the knowledge and skills that enable them to be better prepared for life;
  • planning school jurisdiction priorities based on provincial curriculum requirements, community input;
  • developing and implementing an annual budget for the school jurisdiction based on strategic priorities;
  • developing policies to guide school jurisdiction administration and employees toward district goals;
  • ensuring residents of the school jurisdiction are regularly informed about the work and achievements of the school district;
  • advocating on behalf of the school community to decision-makers and stakeholders on important issues that affect education, and to help ensure public education is a top priority;
  • evaluating the school jurisdiction Chief Executive Officer – the Superintendent of Schools.

Prairie Rose Electoral Wards

The Prairie Rose School Division is a Local Government authority that will be conducting an election for seven (7) school trustees under the authority of the Local Authorities Election Act and the Education Act for the following wards:

WARD 1 MAP – Northern Ward – Oyen, New Brigden, Acadia Valley, Jenner & area (1 Trustee vacancy)
WARD 2 MAP – Cypress East Ward – Irvine, Schuler & area (1 Trustee vacancy)
WARD 3 MAP – Redcliff / Dunmore Ward – Redcliff & Dunmore (2 Trustee vacancies)
WARD 4 MAP – Cypress West / Forty Mile East Ward –Ralston, Seven Persons and area (1 Trustee vacancy)
WARD 5 MAP – Bow Island Area Ward – Bow Island, Burdett and area (1 Trustee vacancy)
WARD 6 MAP – Southern Ward – Foremost and area (1 Trustee vacancy)

ALL WARDS MAP - Overview

Got a question? Contact the Returning Officer.